1) Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
2) Select Settings
3) Click Security in the left column
4) Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm
If you deactivate your Facebook account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you, though some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.